* * * October 22/23, 2022 * * *
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM both Days

About The Class

Short Description:

Course Goal: Teaches the basic knowledge, skills and attitude necessary to carry a concealed pistol for personal defense. The NRA CCW Course is intended for all individuals, regardless of previous shooting experience or NRA-affiliation. This instructor-led only course gives you direct instruction from an NRA-certified CCW instructor from beginning to end and will be conducted in a classroom and on a shooting range with an NRA Instructor and NRA Range Safety Officer.

More Details:

NRA CCW: NRA CCW takes place in a traditional classroom and range environment. This course will be completed in a two-day format of instruction. Course topics include: Firearm Safety (Mandatory), Pistol Nomenclature and Selecting a Pistol for Self-Defense, Basic Defensive Pistol Skills, drawing from Concealment, Loading and Stoppage Remediation, Mindset, Carry Modes and Pistol Concealment, Firearm Cleaning, and Sport Shooting and Training Activities. Course length is determined by the Instructor, to meet MD’s requirements for a CCW permit (16 Hrs) or for renewal (8 Hrs). Additionally, students may complete live fire training that meets Maryland's certification and a nationally standardized shooting qualification while on the range with an NRA Certified Instructor. Students will receive reference books, take a NRA CCW Student Examination and receive a course completion certificate bearing the signature of the NRA Secretary and your NRA Certified Instructor as well as a Maryland certificate of Training suitable for submission to the State Police for your CCW permitting and a certificate for your HQL, should you not have it yet.

Prerequisite: NRA Basics Pistol or equivalent recommended.
 

* * MD & NRA Certified Course * *

Cost $300 (Non-member)
Cost $250 (TCSC Member w/less than 40 Volunteer Work Hours - non-shiny year strip)
Cost $200 (TCSC Member w/40+ Volunteer Work Hours or Life Member - shiny year strip)

Deposit due within 2 days of registering.

Cancellation
14 days or more notification: Return of deposit (less $5.00 processing fee)
Less than 14 days $100.00 non-refundable deposit (all efforts will be made to transfer you to another class within 12 months' time, after 12 months there are no refunds).
No-Show: Participants who do not show to the event without prior 72-hour notice forfeit their total deposit fee.

DATES
10-22/23-2022
0900-1800 Both Days, Lunch: 1300-1400
 
Students will be receiving the gold star standard curriculum of the National Rifle Association as a student in this course. The NRA CCW course meets the 16-hour training requirement of the State of Maryland.

A Maryland Concealed Carry License (CCL) is required to conceal carry a firearm in Maryland, Maryland does not recognize any other states permits. Applicants must be 21 or older. The license permits the licensee to carry a concealed loaded or unloaded handgun on his or her person or within a vehicle.

The class will meet at Thurmont Conservation and Sportsmen's Club, 11617 Hunt Club Rd, Thurmont, MD 21788 on the select dates at 9:00am on both days. Breaks will be taken periodically, including a lunch break where students can leave for a short time or bring their own lunch to eat in the classroom. Class will conclude at 5:30pm on both days.

You must attend all 16 hours, including range time, to receive a certificate of completion. This certificate will be the documentation required by the Maryland State Police for the CCL. The firearm you use for the shooting qualification does not need to be the firearm you will carry when licensed.

Absolutely no live ammunition will be in the classroom. Ammunition must stay in your vehicle.

Common Questions:

Am I required to bring my own gun and ammunition?
Yes. At this time, you are required to bring your own firearm and 200 rounds of ammunition.

Can I buy ammunition from you or your club?
No. At this time, TCSC does not sell ammunition

Are there any restrictions on the gun I can qualify with at the range?
No. The law simply says “concealable firearm”, concealable firearm as defined by the state simply means a handgun, and the caliber of this handgun could be anything from a .22 to a 44 magnum. Shoot whatever is easiest and most comfortable.

Do I have to qualify at the range with the gun I am going to carry?
No. You do not have to qualify with the gun you are going to carry.

Should I bring my firearm to class?
Yes. You will use it in class and on the range. You need a handgun on BOTH days. Don’t forget 200 rounds of factory ammunition appropriate for your firearm on the SECOND day.

What should I bring to the class?

  • Government issued picture ID. (required)
  • Notebook, pen, and highlighter.
  • Your firearm. (required)
  • At least 200 rounds of ammunition for your firearm on the 2nd day (Leave this in your vehicle) (required)
  • Hearing and eye protection.
  • Holster for your firearm, outside-the-waistband holster. (No collapsible or SERPA holsters!) (required)
  • Holster for your magazines (3 required) (outside-the-waistband). (required)
  • At least 3 snap caps for your caliber firearm. (if you have them, we have a limited supply.)
  • Loose shirt (concealment garment) (required)
  • Light Jacket (concealment garment) (required)
  • Drinks, Snacks and something for Lunch/Dinner

You cannot attend if you answer YES to any of these:

  • I have been convicted of any Misdemeanor punishable by more than 2 years or Felony under the laws of this or any other jurisdiction.
  • I have been adjudicated as a mental defective.
  • I have been a patient in a mental institution for 30 consecutive days or longer.
  • I am intellectually disabled or developmentally disabled.
  • I have within the past year (preceding the date of this application) used or been addicted to any controlled substance or narcotics in violation of state or federal law.
  • I am the subject of an existing Order of Protection or a No Contact/No Stalking Order
  • I have been convicted of battery, assault, aggravated assault, violation of an order of protection, or a substantially similar offense in which a firearm was used or possessed.
  • I have been convicted of domestic battery (felony or misdemeanor), aggravated domestic battery or a substantially similar offense.
  • I am an alien who is unlawfully present in the United States.
  • I have within the past year failed a drug test for a drug for which I did not have a prescription.
  • I have been admitted to the United States under a non-immigrant visa of the Immigration and Nationality Act.
  • I have renounced my citizenship as a citizen of the United States.
  • I have been discharged from the Armed Forces under dishonorable conditions.
  • I am a fugitive from justice.

REGISTER HERE